Everything you need to live well

Facebook Launches New “Snooze” Feature To Help You Ignore Pestering Friends

By Billy Praise 18 December 2017   |   9:00 am

Facebook is one of the most popular and largest social networks in the world today. With the influx of people on Facebook and the numerous contacts that a person can have, it can become a little exhausting for Facebook users to deal with all their friends.

(FILES) This file photo taken on December 12, 2007 shows the logo of social networking website ‘Facebook’ displayed on a computer screen in London.<br />/ AFP PHOTO / LEON NEAL

This past Friday, Facebook launched a ‘snooze’ feature that will allow users to mute a person’s posts for up to 30 days. This feature is a less extreme version of the ‘unfollow’ feature and is a welcome development especially for people that have to deal with multiple unwanted posts clogging their timelines.

Snooze

Posted by Facebook on Wednesday, December 13, 2017

To use the feature, simply select snooze in the top-right drop-down menu of a post, and the posts you want to avoid will temporarily disappear from your feed. The accounts you’ve snoozed won’t know about it and you’ll get a notification when the snooze period ends.  You can also end the snooze prematurely by manually turning it off.

 

 



Related