NEAs 2016: ‘Battle royale’ for Nigerian artistes

Lil-Kesh&-yceeIt will be battle for whose single is the hottest as the 2016 edition of Nigeria Entertainment Awards (NEAs), an annual ceremony with primary objective of recognising the contributions of Nigerian and African entertainers holds later in the year.

The award ceremony, which is in its 11th year, not only focus on recognising Nigerian entertainers but also highlight artistes who continue to make impact in the country and in the diaspora.

This year, the producers of the annual event are excited to announce the addition of some new categories and also the expansion of some existing categories to reflect the changes in the entertainment industry. The 2016 NEAs will be held on September 4, in New York City, during the ‘Labour Day’ weekend.

Following the release of the nomination list, Jagaban crooner, Ycee will be head-to-head with Lagos Boys singer, Olamide, WizKid (Baba Nla), Humblesmith (Osinachi), Tekno (Duro) and Kiss Daniel (Mama) in the ‘Hottest Single’ category.

Lil Kesh with his Y.A.G.I will be up against his former boss and mentor, Olamide (Eyan Mayweather), Iyanya (Applaudise), Runtown (Ghetto University), Tiwa Savage (R.E.D.), Falz (Stories that Touch), Seyi Shay (Seyi or Shay), and Yemi Alade (Mama Africa) in the ‘Best Album’ category.

For the ‘Best Song’, Adekunle Gold’s Pick Up, will justify why it have to be given the nod against Oluwa Ni by Reekado Banks, Timi Dakolo (Vow), Bez (You Suppose Know), Iyanya (Type of Woman), and Niyola (Go On). Vector, MI, Phyno, Olamide, Reminisce and CDQ will battle for the ‘Rap Act’ crown.

Sammy Okposo will have Frank Edward, Uche Agu, Nikki Laoye, Obiora Obiwon, and Onos Brisibi to contend with in the ‘Gospel Artist’, while Patoranking, Timaya, Cynthia Morgan, Ceeza, Burna Boy and Ketchup fights for the ‘Dancehall Artiste’

In the ‘Indigenous Artiste’ category it will be 9ice against Flavour, Tillaman, Jaywon, Olu Maintain, and Okpekete singer, Kcee. Niniola, Ycee, Adekunle Gold, Humblesmith, Mz Kiss, and Toby Grey will square up for the ‘Best New Act’, while Timi Dakolo faces a tough challenge from Temidollface, Bez, Mystro, Brymo, and Aramide in the Alternative Artiste category.

In this article:
Lil KeshNEAsYcee
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet