Nominations open for 10 outstanding young persons of the year 2018

Adepeju Jaiyeoba and Imrana Alhaji Buba

After an extraordinarily successful 2017 edition where Nigeria made history with two honourees in the global top ten, Junior Chamber International (JCI) Nigeria has announced the commencement of public nominations for the 2018 edition of its Ten Outstanding Young Persons (TOYP) of the year honours.

Every year, since 1983, JCI, a non-profit global community of 200,000 young persons from over 100 countries, has recognised individuals under 40 years of age, who have done exceptional work and created positive change in various fields of endeavor such as Medicine, Humanitarian, Environment, Science, Business, Arts, among others.

Commenting on the nomination process, the 2018 Committee Chairman for JCI TOYP Nigeria, Oluwatoyin Atanda said, “JCI celebrates young persons who are driving positive impact in their various communities, while inspiring others to greatness and to building a better world.

“This is the guiding principle behind the annual JCI TOYP event. We call on Nigerians to help us identify, by nominating, young outstanding citizens who have excelled in various categories, so we can together celebrate these Citizens In Action,” he added.

Of the ten Nigerian honorees this year, Adepeju Jaiyeoba and Imrana Alhaji Buba remarkably made it to the international stage at the JCI TOYP World event in the Netherlands in November, making it the first time that two Nigerians will appear on the global top ten in the same calendar year.

The process for JCI TOYP begins with public online nominations currently ongoing at, after which the list of nominees will be carefully selected from the pool by a panel of distinguished judges. This stage is followed by public voting, which eventually reveals the final 10 individuals who will receive the much coveted JCI TOYP Nigeria 2018 honours.

Past recipients of the honour in Nigeria include Nduka Obaigbena, Richard Mofe-Damijo, Ndidi Nwuneli, Ray Ekpu, Linda Ikeji, Rotimi Amaechi, Daddy Showkey, Shina Peters, Kanu Nwankwo, and Japheth Omojuwa, among others.

Nigerians can visit the portal, to nominate citizens under the age of 40, who have been exceptional in their various endeavours and deserve to be celebrated amongst the outstanding young Nigerians in 2018.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet