Mikel Obi, Iwobi, Ighalo shortlisted for Olympic squad

The head coach of Nigeria’s Olympic football team, Samson Siasia, has submitted a list of 35 players for a final training camp in the United States of America ahead of this year’s Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Super Eagles’ captain John Mikel Obi, South Africa –based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, defender William Troost and Odion Ighalo were among the senior players invited. Also invited were Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi and Manchester City’s Kelechi Iheanacho.

A final list of 18 would be announced just before the trip to Brazil.

Earlier in the week, the NFF confirmed that there would be a friendly match between the Nigeria Olympic team and the U23 National Team of Mexico in Mexico on Saturday, 2nd July. The match will take place at the Aguascalientes Stadium, home ground of newly promoted top tier club, Necaxa FC, and is scheduled to start at 8.30pm Mexican time.

The NFF also announced that after the friendly, the Nigeria U23 squad will continue its training camp in the United States of America and will play Charleston Battery FC in Atlanta on Saturday, 16th July. A game against the Honduras U23 team is also being planned for 27th July.

Full list of the invited players
Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa FC, South Africa)
Yusuf Bala (Kano Pillars)
Emmanuel Daniel (Enugu Rangers)
Taiwo Abdulrahman (Kwara United)
Ndubuisi Agu (FC Porto, Portugal)
Junior Ajayi (CS Sfaxien, Tunisia)
Stanley Amuzie (Olhanense FC, Portugal)
Taiwo Awoniyi (Frankfurt FC, Germany)
Okechukwu Azubuike (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey)
Etor Daniel (Enyimba FC)
Augustine Dimgba (Sunshine Stars)
William Ekong (Haugesund FC, Norway)
Saturday Erimuya (Kayseri Erciyespor, Turkey)
#Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense FC, Portugal)
Imoh Ezekiel (Anderlecht, Belgium)
Saviour Godwin (Ostende, Belgium)
Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England)
Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England)
Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)
Emiloju Julius (MFM FC)
Kingsley Madu (AS Trencin, Slovakia)
John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England)
Musa Muhammed (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey)
Usman Muhammed (CF Uniao, Portugal)
Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium)
Erhun Obanor (MFM FC)
Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey)
Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea FC, England)
Sodiq Saliu (Seraing FC, Belgium)
Abdullahi Shehu (CF Uniao, Portugal)
Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)
Seth Sincere (Rhapsody FC)
Ndifreke Udo (Abia Warriors)
Aminu Umar (Osmalispor, Turkey)
Sadiq Umar (AS Roma, Italy)

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet