Suspended lawmakers resume sitting

Nasarawa Assembly

Nasarawa Assembly

The six suspended members of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly have resumed sitting, the Speaker of the State of Assembly, Ibrahim Abdullahi has said.

He said the resumption follows a resolution passed by the House of Assembly on Monday.

The Speaker while announcing this during the house plenary in Lafia, said the resumption is to enable the suspended members perform their legislative duties.

He added: “If we will recall, on Oct.11,2016, the house passed a resolution that the six suspended members should resume on Monday,Oct.18 based on their apology when they appeared before the Adhoc investigation committee.”

It would be recalled that on April, 4, the house suspended Kassim Mohammed-Kassim (APC-Akwanga South), Murtala Sodangi(APC-Nasarawa Central),Mohammed Okpoku(APC-Udege/ Loko, Musa Ali (APC-Keffi East),

Makpa Malla (APC-Wamba and Abubakar Kana (APC-Kokona West) over allegations of bribery and corruption they leveled against the house.

“Today I want to inform you that the six suspended members have resume and have also tendered a written apology letter dully signed by all of them over their actions which led to their six months suspension,” he said.

While announcing the decision the speaker tasked members of the assembly on true forgiveness and reconciliation and to forget in order to move the assembly and the state forward for the overall development of the country.

It was indeed confirmed that three out of the six suspended members, namely Makpa Malla (APC-Wamba),Abubakar Kana (APC-Kokona West) and Mohammed-Kassim (APC-Akwanga South) tendered an oral apology before the house during the plenary.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet