2019 Commonwealth Short Story Prize entries to close Nov. 1

A hand on a note pad depicting writing

Entries for 2019 Commonwealth Short Story Prize will close on November 1, 2018.

The competition is free to enter, while entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country and be aged 18 years or over on November 1.

The Prize is a yearly award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation.

The story should be adult fiction and must not have been written for children alone. There are no restrictions on setting, genre or theme.

Entries must be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words maximum.

Entries should be submitted in English, with the following exceptions: entries from Commonwealth citizens who write in Bengali, Chinese, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan and Tamil and who do not have an English translation of their story, may submit their stories in the original language.

There will be five winners, one from each region (Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean, Pacific).

One regional winner will be selected as the overall winner. The overall winner of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize will receive £5,000 and the remaining four regional winners £2,500.

Last year, a Nigerian-German writer Efua Traoré was selected as one of the five regional winners for the 2018 Commonwealth Short Story Prize, from 5,182 entries and a shortlist of 24 stories.

Traoré wrote a piece titled, True Happiness, which described a fiction story of how “a troubled 13-year-old boy in Lagos questions his pastor’s definition of true happiness.”

Founded in 2012, the Commonwealth Short Story Prize is awarded annually for the best piece of unpublished short fiction and opens to Commonwealth citizens aged 18 and over.

You can visit www.commonwealthwriters.org/our-projects/the-short-story/ to learn more about the competition.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet