Mark, Nnamani, Masari, Yari visit Buhari

David Mark

David Mark

President Muhammadu Buhari yesterday played host to a number of dignitaries, including former Senate Presidents Ken Nnamani and David Mark as well as Governors Amininu Masari and Abdulaziz Abubakar Yari of Katsina and Zamfara states respectively at the Presidential Villa.No official statement was, however, issued as at press time.

But it was, however, learnt that Yari’s visit may have been to thank the President for visiting and commissioning some road projects last week to mark his fifth anniversary in office.Yari is also Chairman of the Nigerian Governors’ Forum (NGF).

Mark, who visited around 3:00 p.m. was received by the President’s Senior Special Assistant, (Senate), Ita Enang while the duo of Nnamani and Masari had arrived earlier.

But Mark only exchanged pleasantries with correspondents before proceeding to the President’s office only to leave after 30 minutes alongside Nnamani and Masari through the Service Chiefs’ Gate apparently to avoid fielding questions from reporters who had already siege to the vicinity.

This makes it the second time that Nnamani and Masari, a former Speaker of House of Representatives, would be visiting the President together this year.
The duo had visited Buhari on April 25 in the heat of a hot disagreement between the President and members of the National Assembly over the 2016 budget.

Also on May 31, Nnamani also led a high-powered Igbo delegation under the auspices of the South Group for Change to meet the President on the heels of the killings that trailed the 2016 Biafran Day remembrance in the South East, South-South on May 30.

Though he denied any political undertone, the delegation comprised prominent political figures of the party from the South East, including Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State.

The delegation also included APC National Vice Chairman, (South East), Emma Eneukwu, National Auditor, Chief George Moghalu, Senators Ifeanyi Ararume, Osita Izunaso as well as erstwhile member of the House of Representatives, Sharon Ikeazor and former Executive Vice Chairman/Chief Executive of the Nigerian Communication Commission, (NCC), Ernest Ndukwe.There were also members of the APC Board of Trustees, (BoT), Chief Austin Edeze, Dr. Uzoma Obiyo and Chris Akomas.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet