NBA presidency: Mahmoud protests ALF’s request to substitute nominees in elders’ committee

Lawmakers Wig

Lawmakers Wig

THE leadership of Arewa Lawyers Forum (ALF) has told one of the presidential aspirants in the forthcoming NBA elections, A. B. Mahmoud (SAN) to substitute two of his nominees in Arewa Elders Committee within one week.

A memo dated February 13, 2016 from the Chairman of ALF, M. A. Abubakar to the Secretary Sani Garungabas reads: “I received the above mail from A. B.  Mahmud (SAN) conveying his nominees into the elders committee as requested. Surprisingly, I have also received a petition from J-K Gadzama (SAN), which I will also forward to you. In the said petition, he is complaining of first two nominees as non-ALF members. 

To my mind, the petition has merit, accordingly, the attention of A. B. Mahmud should be drawn on the need to substitute them within one week” Abubakar stated.
A.B. Mahmoud had nominated former NBA President, J. B. Daudu (SAN), Mallam Yusuf Ali (SAN) and Dr. Garba Tetengi (SAN) as his nominees into the Elders Committee
But in a letter to the leadership of ALF titled  “Humble protest against two proposed nominees by A. B. Mahmoud” Gadzama said:

“Please recall that at the last ALF general meeting held in Kaduna on Friday, January 30, 2015, it was unanimously resolved that both presidential aspirants should forward names of three nominees each, of Northern extraction, for the purpose of constituting the seven-man Committee of Elders to look into the report of the Electoral Screening Committee which recommended Chief J-K Gadzama (SAN)  for adoption.

“My attention has been drawn to the fact that my brother and friend, A. B. Mahmoud (SAN) has nominated the following distinguished and respected members of the Bar:  J. B. Daudu (SAN), Mallam Yusuf Ali, (SAN), and Dr. Garba Tetengi (SAN) as his members for the committee.

“While conceding the fact that the trio, the above nominees are respected Bar leaders, renowned achievers and jolly good fellows, the first and second nominees are not qualified to be appointed into the seven-man Committee of Elders.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet