Police redeploy 28 AIGs, Mbu moves to Lagos, APC kicks


ARISING from the vacancies created with the retirement of some senior police officers and the recent promotions made to fill up the openings, the Inspector General of Police (IGP) has ordered the immediate redeployment of 28 Assistant Inspector Generals of Police (AIGs).

A statement from the Force Public Relations Officer Emmanuel Ojukwu said it is “part of the ongoing reorganization in the Nigeria Police Force, IGP Suleiman Abba ordered, with immediate effect, the redeployment of twenty-eight (28) Assistant Inspectors-General of Police (AIGs) to various departments, Zonal Commands and Formations of the Force.”

The statement indicated that Joseph Mbu, the AIG in charge of Zone 7 Abuja has been redeployed to Zone 2 Lagos to take over from Umaru Manko, who is redeployed as Director of Study Group NIPPS Kuru, while Tambari Mohammed is to remain in Zone 1 Kano, as well as Mohammed Abubakar, who is still AIG Zone 3 Yola, Musa Daura AIG Zone 5 Benin, Christopher Dega AIG Zone 8 Lokoja, Usman Gwarry AIG Zone 9 Umuahia, Bala Hassan Zone 10 Sokoto and Mohammed Gana AIG Zone 12 Bauchi are all to remain.

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has kicked against the movement of Assistant Inspector General of Police Joseph Mbu to the Zone 2 Command, Onikan Lagos.

Spokesman for the APC in Lagos, Mr. Joe Igbokwe at a press briefing yesterday at his office in Alausa, Ikeja criticized the Federal government for redeploying Mbu to Lagos.

The APC spokesman who kicked against Mbu’s posting to Lagos said the state was ready for Mbu.

  “Mbu must understand clearly that this is Lagos. Since Lagos was created in 1967, it has been in the hands of progressives unlike Rivers or Abuja. This is a special state where the best minds live. This is the city of civil societies and the media. We know his antecedents and if he brings all those his unbecoming behaviors to Lagos, we will retire him from the Police.

“He was rejected in Rivers, so if he comes here to abuse a sitting Governor, we will not take it from him. Governor Fashola is the Chief Security Officer of the State and if he abuses him, we will run him out of town,” Igbokwe maintained.

Other AIGs that are to remain are Sule Mamman Force Secretary, Adisa Bolanle Commandant POLAC, Edgar Nanakumo Force Animal Branch, Wilfred Obute Armament Force Headquarters, Ringim Ibrahim Border Patrol, Ibrahim Maisahanu INFO-TECH, Buhari Tanko Special Duty FHQ and Yahaya Ardo Counter Terrorism Unit.

The statement said former Commissioners of Police (CPs) promoted to AIGs who will take command positions among others are the hitherto CP Kano Aderenle Shinaba is to report as AIG Zone 4 Makurdi, Ikemefuna Okoye CP Ogun now to take charge AIG Zone 11 Oshogbo.

Former AIG training and Development Johnson Ogunsakin is redeployed to Zone 6 Calabar, while Patrick Dokumor who was at National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies Kuru is now AIG Zone 7 Abuja.

Also Kalafite Adeyemi from Command Staff College Jos to AIG Maritime FHQ, he took over from Jubrin Adeniji who is now 2i/c Force CID. Lawal Tanko from Federal Ops is now AIG Police Mobile Force Abuja, while Balla Nasarawa formerly AIG Intelligence is redeployed to be Commandant Police Staff College Jos, Olufemi Adenaike who was at NIPPS Jos is now AIG Training, Irimiya Yerima from NIPPS Jos is to head Communications.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No Comments yet