Omisore, Omoworare may determine winner of rerun poll

Senator Iyiola Omisore

The battle for the governorship seat has been shifted to four local government areas following the rerun election fixed for Thursday September 27.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had cancelled elections in seven polling units because of technical hitches and ad hoc staff that absconded with election materials.

The 3, 498 voters that will eventually determine the winner are located in Osogbo, Orolu, Ife South and Ife North councils.

The candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Senator Iyiola Omisore and the Senator representing Ife Central, Babajide Omoworare are being seen as the candidates to determine who wins about 60 per cent of the votes from the rerun.

In Ife South where towns like Ifetedo and Garage Olode will also determine where the rerun will swing, APC won with 7,223, SDP 6,151 while had PDP 4,872.

Though Omisore is believed to have a good control of the unit where rerun will hold, votes for his party will be inconsequential.

In the only polling unit in Osogbo where 884 registered voters will participate in the rerun, APC had been winning and the party may repeat the feat.

There were speculations yesterday evening that some PDP stalwarts from outside the state were already wooing Omisore to forgive the party and support its candidate, Adeleke, in the rerun.

Omisore’s influence in Ife and environment cannot be underestimated.

Orolu local council where election will hold in 3 units is beside Ife.

But the PDP had an impressive show in the released result in Orolu leading with 7,776 votes against APC 5442, and SDP 2043.

The Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yussuf Lasun, is from the community but he was trounced by the PDP in circumstances that fueled suspicion about his influence and loyalty to the APC.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet