Senate names special committees, appoints members



President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, yesterday announced three special committees and one ad-hoc committee.

They are: Senate Services Committee, Rules And Business Committee; Ethics And Privileges Committee; and Media, Information And Public Affairs Committee.

While Ibrahim Gobir (APC, Sokoto East) was made chairman of Senate Services Committee, Samuel Anyanwu (PDP, Imo East) was named chairman of Ethics and Privileges Committee. Babajide Omoworare (APC, Osun East) was named chairman, Rules And Business Committee, just as Dino Melaye (APC, Kogi West) is to head the Committee on Media, Information And Public Affairs on ad-hoc capacity.

The announcement was in line with Order 96 of the Senate Standing Order, which makes provision for establishment of special committees within the first 14 legislative days.

Other special committees yet to be named include Public Account as well as National Security and Intelligence.

The selection committee, which has the Senate President as chairman, and comprised of other principal officers as members, met and appointed the chairmen and members of the committees.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet